Publishing Equality Information

In this section you can find information and reports relating to:

  • Annual Public Sector Equality Duty (PSED)
  • Equality Delivery System 2 (EDS 2)
  • NHS Workforce Race Equality Standard (WRES)
  • Accessible Information Standards
  • The Equality Framework for Local Government (EFLG)


As we are a new partnership organisation, we are currently developing our Equality and Diversity working arrangements and reporting. Information below relates to NHS Manchester CCG and Manchester City Council.


Annual Public Sector Equality Duty (PSED) Report 

The Equality Act 2010 introduced a public sector equality duty which consists of a general duty and specific duties. As an organisation part of Manchester Health and Care Commissioning, the CCG Annual Equality Report provides information on how the general equality duties are being met, along with the CCG’s information relating to workforce and services.

If you have any feedback or questions about our Annual Public Sector Duty Report’s, please email

Equality Delivery System 2 (EDS 2)

The NHS Equality Delivery System 2 (EDS 2) is a performance framework enabling organisations to review their performance on equality and diversity, and to identify future priorities and actions. It is designed to help organisations to deliver better outcomes for patients and communities and better working environments for staff.

Central to the EDS 2 is a set of 18 outcomes aligned to four goals. These outcomes focus on the issues of most concern to patients, carers, communities, NHS staff and Boards. These are:

  • Better health outcomes for all
  • Improved patient access and experience
  • A represented and supported workforce
  • Inclusive leadership


The EDS 2 grades are set out below:

  • Excelling (Purple)
  • Achieving (Green)
  • Developing (Amber)
  • Undeveloped (Red)

The Manchester CCGs implemented EDS 2 and completed a baseline assessment. Evidence was gathered against each of the 18 outcomes; this was reviewed and graded by a range of local stakeholders and staff.  Below you can find information for 2015 and 2016.

2015 EDS 2 Summary Reports

2016 EDS 2 Summary Reports


NHS Workforce Race Equality Standard (WRES)

NHS England has introduced a Workforce Race Equality Standard which requires organisations employing almost all of the 1.4 million NHS workforce to demonstrate progress against a number of indicators of workforce equality, including a specific indicator to address the low levels of BME Board representation. The below WRES reports for 2015 are individual for North, Central and South Manchester CCGs, and citywide for 2016. Going forward there will be just one report for Manchester CCG.

WRES Reports 2015

If you would like to know more about the Workforce Race Equality Standard, you can click here to watch a video from the national WRES Implementation Team.

The Equality Framework for Local Government (EFLG)

Manchester City Council has been rated as ‘excellent’ under the Equality Framework for Local Government (EFLG). This means that we are delivering excellence in the areas of:

  • Knowing our communities
  • Leadership, partnership and organisational commitment
  • Involving our communities
  • Responsive services and customer care
  • Skilled and committed workforce

Read the report of the EFLG assessment to find out more.


Accessible Information Standards

NHS England has provided a standard for ensuring information is accessible for all. The standard aims to specifically improve the quality and safety of care received by individuals with information and communication needs, and their ability to be involved in autonomous decision making about their health, care and well-being. More information about the accessible information standards can be found on the NHS England website.

Connect with us